why dont they join the peace corps?

March 12, 2008

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/03/09/travel/09heads.html?ex=1362888000&en=451c52a324e88d7f&ei=5124&partner=permalink&
exprod=permalink

or actually use their money to help the problem instead of perpetuating it?

blast cut ‘n paste the link

4 Responses to “why dont they join the peace corps?”

  1. mark t said

    I agree, whatever you call it, it is still stupid. How dumb is it that you are going to pay money to see how normal people live. I hate tours. I do have two definitions that I use and I don’t like it when people interchange them. Tourism involves tours, cruises, guides etc. Traveling involves sweat, awkwardness, the average people in the community you are in and adventure. A simple way to remember it is this:
    Tourism involves a suitcase.
    Traveling involves a backpack.

    I hope you’re doing well, sorry for ranting in your comment section.

  2. mcmacdonald said

    Mark, i LIKE it when you rant, seriously, i wouldnt post a link if I didnt want people to read it and have an opinion.
    the whole thing makes me sick, i cant understand the the mind frame of someone who wants to spend thousands of dollars to look at poor people with out helping them. spend any time in a 3rd world country and the whole idea that a community can be imporved on tourism alone is irrational/silly/awful.

  3. Brian said

    At first, I was surprised. But the more I thought about it, the more I wondered why this sort of thing would surprise me. And people who have never left our borders wonder why the rest of the world hates us? Because our everyday foreign representatives (well, a good number of them anyhow) are F***ING IDIOTS. Slum tours? Come on. What happened to blending in? Actually experiencing the culture of the place one traveled so far to visit? What happened to being human? Isn’t that the point?

    I have to hand it to the tour operators though, for finding yet another way to collect cash from rich American tourists who like to waste their money on things that don’t matter. Really, it’s brilliant, get these guys some medals. It’s a shady business niche, but its their shady business niche.

    If it were me on one of those slum tour buses, I would feel like a target, not a tourist.

  4. mcmacdonald said

    good point brian.
    what really bothers me is that, people can, with little money and little time can contribuate to provide actual aid to the people in slums…simply looking and getting all googley eyed does nothing.

Leave a Reply

