Exactly…

December 11, 2008

…9 months to Close of Service

Not that I’m counting down or anything.

First snow falling right now.

Seems like not enough time to do everything, to make real friendships, to reach a place where I can leave with the knowledge that I did something positive.

 

It suddenly really hit me.  When done here, I’ll have the ability, freedom, opportunity to go anywhere, and do basically whatever I want.  It is astoundingly, mind numbingly selfish.  Lacking a house, car, kid, significant other person, I could close my eyes, spin a globe, drop my finger and then GO…

9 Responses to “Exactly…”

  1. siologen said

    See, thats the beauty of it and what your working for.

  2. Kate said

    how exciting!!

  3. mcmacdonald said

    exciting and really scary.
    which is just where I want to be.

  4. Mike said

    Wait… wasn’t this whole grand adventure supposed to make you a more responsible, adult individual? 🙂

  5. Brian said

    Freedom is a wonderful thing, eh?

  6. mcmacdonald said

    wonderful and alas, there is little to no hope of me ever becoming a responsible adult individual. ha ha. 🙂

  7. Brian said

    GOOD. Responsible adulthood = the opposite of fun. What the heck is a minivan?

  8. misterwrite said

    This is what’s known as raining on a parade…
    Short of death or brain damage, adulthood is unavoidable. Which leaves two options: responsible adulthood or irresponsible adulthood. I’ve tried both and responsible is much better.

    And we got rid of our minivan 2 years ago. (But on lonely, quiet nights, I still miss it)

  9. mcmacdonald said

    minivan sighting in ISM. how they made it here is beyond me. its a plague. run for cover.

    i hear you, and agree.
    better stated: i’ll never be the traditional image of a responsibel adult.
    what that is, well, we can argue that to death. maybe even more specific, i’ll never be an adult in the minds of the azeris, this is due to many things (see above post about FauxDude, the 2 snowball fights i had yesterday etc) it causes a bit of confusion, when by most other standards (mine own included) i’m quite responsible, but where/who ive been living for the past 14+ months has done everything to tell me otherwise. which begs the question, colleen, why the heck are you so concerned about what the azeris think?

Leave a Reply

