the work

December 18, 2008

I’ve been running around all crazy trying to tie up/sort out details for the youth photo exhibit in January.  (I can’t remember being this stressed out over something I enjoyed, other than the time I had to present 10 of my paintings and defend their creation to one Mr. Morgan of the UMN Art Department) 

Anyway, things seem to flying in different directions, the venue has changed only 3 times in the last few weeks, several of the youth have gone MIA (possibly due to the cold, its probably below zero), refreshments has been scrapped then added in only a dozen times (they were finally scrapped today, for good), the date has jumped around due to an important dead person having a birthday,(right now the dates are mostly set as Jan 8-10) and uncertainty reigns about exactly how long it will take the printer to make, well, prints of our photo files.  Add all of that on top of the impending holidays and things are a bit strained.  However, lest it seem like I’m whining, I’m actually enjoying everything, if the exhibit flies, it will literally be the fruit/result of 3 years of combined work from not only Nate, Mike, and me but over 40 youth from Ming and ISM.  The photos are nothing short of stunning and the kiddos really deserve this chance to show what they’ve done.  This weekend Nate Dangerous (a nickname bestowed by me from our first trip to Baku) is in town to help sort photos, meet with the youth to design announcements/invitations and sift through several dozen essays to choose a few (they will accompany the photos) that address the theme of the exhibit, ‘Is it good or bad to be different from others?’  (The photography project was designed to encourage and teach the youth how to use photography as a way to show not only their own thoughts but also as a means/way to address social issues.)  Once the announcements are made, I’ll post one with several of the student photos as well as a few snaps from the event.

 

 Busy is very, very, good, I’ve had little energy to remember that I’m pathetically lonely, miss my family a lot, am stressing about post PC job/wander and find winter to be dreadful without snowboarding.  This busyness induced semi-apathy has also prevented me from flying into a blinding rage with the new game the delinquent boys have made up.  Its called ‘Sand outside the Ingliss Guz’s Window in 2 Feet of Snow at all Odd Hours and Yell Loudly in Hopes that She will come out and Decide to be your Girlfriend’. 

 

I refuse to tell them to stop, I hope they get frostbite.

7 Responses to “the work”

  1. Kate said

    Sorry, I keep missing your IM’s cuz I’m usually gone for work when you send them!

  2. mcmacdonald said

    no worries, the whole 9 hrs. time diff. is a bother:)

  3. siologen said

    “This busyness induced semi-apathy has also prevented me from flying into a blinding rage with the new game the delinquent boys have made up. Its called ‘Sand outside the Ingliss Guz’s Window in 2 Feet of Snow at all Odd Hours and Yell Loudly in Hopes that She will come out and Decide to be your Girlfriend’.
    I refuse to tell them to stop, I hope they get frostbite”

    That, is just…. so RAD!

  4. Brian said

    I wish I had a fan club like that.

  5. mcmacdonald said

    meh you can have ’em all

  6. lizzie said

    ah hahahahaha!!!!!!

    i think i’d let them get frostbite too =D

  7. mcmacdonald said

    …a quick process, as they’ve already smashed their feet into pointy toed shoes…

Leave a Reply

