New Adventure Awaits!

September 13, 2010

Usually, I don’t send out mass emails, or like making public personal declarations (unless its calling out someone’s dreadful fashion/or my misadventures pushing brats over on bikes) but decided to put in my year dues to mass communication by posting a tasty bit of news.

No I’m not getting married, or with child. (!!!)

But I do have a brand new, sparkly, fresh, job teaching art/English at Baku Oxford School in Baku (of course!) In fact I just inked my contract-which is rather generous, given my 3 years (38 1/2 months) of volunteering, or slumming it, depending on your perspective-as recently as yesterday, I pulled up my Izzy Town life and moved into a lovely flat in Baku-and today I finished the headache of paperwork which shows I’m finally, totally, completely, 100% done with Peace Corps. Yea, I’m quite pleased.

Lest you think I’ll never leave this glorious country, be assured once my contract ends, I have every intention of moving to an as of yet undetermined country that will likely not be America and pursuing something to satiate my adrenalin addiction.

Why, then, might you ask, is she doing something as predictable/normal/easy as teaching art/English? It is simple mater of economics, 3 years of not working does leave finances in a mess, there are cameras to be brought, wanderings to plot, clothing to purchase and savings to be pimped. Or perhaps for the first time in a very very long time (or at least since I was 6) I want consistency; consistency in received pay checks, working hours, and the general assurance that I wont be woken up at 7am/midnight by a crazed landlord/hag demanding I immediately vacate the property because I’m ‘not clean’. (Yes, that’s a euphemism for sexual purity; somehow the presence of a fiancé rendered me not clean enough and it took the landhag/lord 3 months to figure that part out and then arrive, in both cases at uncivilized hours.)

That’s not to say I don’t miss my family and friends from the states, in fact, the homesickness has crept up more frequently as of late, likely due to changes and moving and summer ending.

But this is a new adventure, so I am…Happy!

11 Responses to “New Adventure Awaits!”

  1. Kate said

    YAY for a good job! And consistency! A nice flat! And PAYCHECKS!!!

  2. Brian said

    Get paid! Congrats on the new gig, I agree it is nice to have some feeling of stability every now and then. And teaching art and English doesn’t sound like a bad way to be.

    I’m still working out a way to come visit Baku, but work’s got me by tightly the cajones with an iron fist that would make the Soviets blush with envy. I get the feeling that things will be a bit slower this winter.

    You should send me your new mailing address if it’s changed.

  3. mcmacdonald said

    yea, visit Baku…I was thinking the other day about The Stacks and the cops and West 7th Sewer… :>

  4. Mike said

    Well, dang. Congratulations!

    Shoot me an e-mail with your new address, and I’ll get a care package in the mail to you… devoid of sex toys or military topographic maps of your corner of the world. 🙂

  5. mcmacdonald said

    Thanks!! no,no, include topo maps, otherwise I might lose my rep as superspywhore.

    Better yet, a map of my drain would be win. seem to have lost the one we drew…4 years ago.

    need to sort out what my address is, but expect an email soon.

  6. mcmacdonald said

    Flames Drain ran under my 10th st flat…whispers have that my dark dirty placs have gotten, eerrr bigger lately. haha. yea,just went thru my old photos from mouser. :>

  7. mcmacdonald said

    *places* <—that is

  8. mcmacdonald said

    mouser influence n all that, have one from West7th (i think? or Mels Hole?) that will top out the nassssssssssty. stand by for a Retro look!

Leave a Reply

